The Emma-Watson.net Forum

Cakes From Ebay

I'm a keen baker and love decorating cake, I made my sons birthday cake and have made a few others. I want to get some practice making more cakes and decorating them. I noticed that a few people sell cakes on ebay which I thought was a little odd. The cakes are quite expensive and would you trust them going in the post?

So I was just wondering, would you buy a cake from ebay full stop? would you be more likely to buy a cake if you knew it was being made locally so you could pick it up or have a more personal delivery?

i personally wouldnt do it over the internet, mostly because i would want to see it face to face really. I buy a lot of cakes lol i get this shop in the local town that makes cakes for people.

Perhaps you could find a little cake making shop, they are brilliant and extremely talented.

Yeah well that was my thoughts as well,

I'm not looking at buying, I'd be more interested in selling. I was just asking because I personally don't like the idea of buying a cake from ebay, so wondered if it was just be or if other people shared this view lol.

^my auntie is a keen baker too, and she makes money by making cakes for her friends and then her friends recomended her to their friends etc. All about word of mouth, and then when you make enough money you can put a ad in the local paper or yellow pages?

As odd as it sounds there are some types of collector cakes out there, which might be one reason people buy online, but that's a whole different bag of beans. I might be enticed to order online if the shop was local and I could pick it up, mind you it would have to be an establishment I trusted. I probably wouldn't order a cake from a different county/state/country however, that just seems a bit odd. Especially when there are so many delicious local cakes =D.

I've made a lion cake (i'll try and find a picture now)