The Emma-Watson.net Forum

To Kill A Mockingbird

I love this book. I studied it in school and got a B on my coursework for it. I loved it so much after school I brought the book and movie. It has such a good moral to it. Anyone else a fan?

I had to read this book for school and I really enjoyed it. I used to have a copy of the book but when I moved out of my mom's house most of my books got lost in the shuffle, including that one and I keep meaning to pick it up at the book store. I haven't read it in a really long time though.

I read this book after Emma mentioned it in an interview and I said I'd write a review for Watson Weekly. Once I started, I was hooked and I couldn't stop. I recently watched the movie and found it as good as the book. Gregory Peck was very charismatic, in a quiet but determined way. I was also very touched by the little girl who played Scout. That scene where the men of the town show up at night in front of the prison in order to lynch the accused, and she talks to them, in her innocent voice, not understanding what's going on, and undermining the collective, almost sheep-like, intent to kill by addressing the men separately, as individuals, therefore reminding them of their human nature was very powerful.

I find Atticus Finch such an inspirational character. He doesn't bend to social pressure, he insists on doing what he feels is right and on setting a good example.

I'm a lawyer as well, and when I think of Atticus Finch and his deep faith in justice, I know why I chose to become a lawyer.

Thanks for creating this thread.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

How old are you may I ask? I think it's the broader our minds are the more we understand it.

I was in top classes at school, predicted top grades everyone else in my class loved it. Bottom sets hated it. I suppose you have to be into literature to understand/like it.

How old are you may I ask? I think it's the broader our minds are the more we understand it.